Advertise Here

Monday, 16 October 2017

Vijaykanth Family Marriage Wife Photos Biography Profile Biodata Age Height Details

Vijaykanth  Family Marriage Wife Photos Biography Profile Biodata Age Height Details

Name Vijaykanth
Date of Birth:25-08-1952
Age: 65
Occupation Actor

Vijayakanth (born Vijayraj Azhagarswami, August 25, 1952) is an Indian actor and politician. He was Leader of the Opposition of the Legislative Assembly of Tamil Nadu from 2011 to 2016. Before becoming a politician, he was a film actor in Tamil cinema from 1979 to 2010. He is the founder of Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam and served as Member of the Legislative Assembly representing the riding of Rishivandiyam.

Private life

Vijaykanth was born in Madurai. The media has widely publicized an ongoing conflict between Vijayakanth and comedic actor Vadivelu, who has been co-star of Vijayakanth in a number of notable films. On September 21, 2008, Vadivelu's residence in Saligramam, Chennai, was bombarded with stones by a band, leaving several windows and furniture damaged. Vadivelu reported that he suspected that it was Vijayakanth's men who, because of a legal case he had filed against Vijayakanth for assault, for which the final hearing was to take place the next day. The attack may have been put in place to prevent Vadivelu from attending the hearing.  After filing another complaint for attempted assassination of Vijayakanth, Vadivelu mentioned his interest in participating in the upcoming assembly elections and "teaching him a lesson". In response, Vijayakanth told a press conference that Vadivelu's allegations were based on hearsay.  In the 2011 legislative elections in Tamil Nadu, Vadivelu campaigned vehemently for the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and his alliance. During his public speeches, he mostly condemned Vijayakanth, whose party Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK), allied with the opposition All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK). In a campaign speech in Tiruvarur, Vadivelu said that "his only goal is to sweep the entire Vijayakanth team and carry out a vigorous campaign for the victory of DMK." Vadivelu was criticized as being partial, supporting only one victory led by DMK for personal gains and not mentioning once the then official opposition, AIADMK, or its leader, J. Jayalalitha In a turn, the election was ultimately successful for the AIADMK alliance while Vijayakanth was victorious by a significant margin in his own constituency.


Doorathu Idi Muzhakkam (1980)
Sattam Oru Iruttarai (1981)
Nooravathu Naal (1984)
Vaidehi Kathirunthal (1984)
Naane Raja Naane Mandhiri (1985)
Amman Kovil Kizhakale (1986)
Oomai Vizhigal (1986)
Cooliekkaran (1987)
Poonthotta Kaavalkaaran (1988)
Senthoora Poove (1988)
Ponmana Selvan (1989)
Meenakshi Thiruvilayadal (1989)
Pulan Visaranai (1990)
Chatriyan (1990)
Captain Prabhakaran (1991)
Chinna Gounder (1992)
Bharathan (1992)
Sethupathi IPS (1994)
Honest Raj (1994)
En Aasai Machan (1994)
Thayagam (1996)
Ulavuthurai (1998)
Kannupada Poguthaiya (1999)
Vaanathai Pola (2000)
Vallarasu (2000)
Ramanaa (2002)
Engal Anna (2004)
Sudesi (2006)
Perarasu (2006)
Arasangam (2008)


1986 – Filmfare Award for Best Actor – Tamil for Amman Kovil Kizhakale
1988 – Tamil Nadu State Film Award for Best Actor for Senthoora Poove
1989 – Cinema Express Award for Best Actor – Tamil for Poonthotta Kaavalkaaran
1994 – Tamil Nadu State Film Honorary Award (MGR Award)
1996 – Tamil Nadu State Film Award Special Prize for Thayagam
2000 – Cinema Express Best Actor Award for Vaanathaippola
2001 – Kalaimamani Award from the Government of Tamil Nadu
2001 – Best Indian Citizen Award by Citizens of India forum
2001 – Best Tamil Citizen Award by Mayor of Houston U.S.A
2009 – Filmfare Top 10 Legends of Tamil Cinema Award
2011 – Honorary doctorate


Join with us!

Delivered by FeedBurner